Copy and paste the code below into your website’s HTML.

We are a close-knit team of volunteers united by the same focus – making sure South Canterbury continues to be a place that we proudly call home.

Stephen circle.png

Stephen McFarlane - Chairperson

Stephen McFarlane is a Chartered Accountant, Certified Financial Planner and Authorised Financial Adviser.

His community involvement includes Chairing the South Canterbury Rugby Union, Tennis South Canterbury and the Fraser Park Community Trust. He is on the YMCA Mid and South Canterbury Board and has also served on the Board of the Crusaders.

Stephen is a passionate advocate for South Canterbury and the significant difference the Aoraki Foundation can make in the community.

John circle.png

John Coles

The Coles family have a long history with farming in the Waimate region that goes back well over 100 years.

John has significant involvement with the St Andrews, Otaio and Waimate community, including time as the Waimate District Council Mayor, Deputy Mayor and councillor, as well as assisting on various committees and trust boards.

His work for the Waimate and district communities was acknowledged with an ONZM on the 2014 New Years honours list as well being awarded a Rotary Paul Harris Fellow.

Lesley Roy

Lesley Roy

Following 24 years in tourism marketing and business management largely in Wellington, Los Angeles and Taiwan, Lesley understands first hand what an asset South Canterbury is.

She has been involved in governance roles with Trusts and Boards for many years, including the Cruise New Zealand Executive, Australia and New Zealand Business Association, South Canterbury Free Kindergarten Association, Central South Island Tourism, Mackenzie Tourism Trust and the Fairlie Community Vehicle Trust.

Murray Roberts.png

Murray Roberts

Murray has been a long term resident of South Canterbury. Now semi retired from his long term corporate role as NZ Business Manager for the worldwide Inspection, Audit and Certification company SGS, he has now taken a role as Managing Director of Trust Aoraki Ltd, is a Board Member of the South Canterbury District Health Board and a Director of the South Canterbury Eye Clinic.

Murray has held a long time interest in various sports in SC and is currently President of the South Canterbury Rugby Football Union. 

He is passionate about South Canterbury and what it has to offer to our various communities and
tourists alike.

Robyn circle.png

Robyn Hewson

Robyn works part time for Goanna Design, a branding, digital communications and strategy and marketing company.

Previous to that she worked for Aoraki’s local MP, Jo Goodhew, in a role which essentially supported the electorate. Robyn has also worked as an Industrial Chaplin in and around Timaru which provided the opportunity to get to know the business community and the amazing staff they employ.

Robyn learnt the role of governance by serving on Boards of Trustees for nine years at two local schools.

She is an active supporter of philanthropic causes, working overseas for short periods in aid work. In supporting her local community she has a variety of roles from walking beside Timaru’s newest refugee family, to supporting the local Children’s Centre at Esk Valley to helping families in the Timaru district to become financially literate.

Robyn values her role of being a trustee of Aoraki Foundation as she sees it as being a small part to play in the big picture of building funds which will continue into perpetuity supporting the projects and the people of South Canterbury.

David Foreman.png

David Forman

David is a solicitor and partner in RSM Law Ltd, Timaru. He is experienced in litigation and commercial law, a trustee of the Mid and South Canterbury Community Trust and is honorary solicitor for South Canterbury R.S.A. He is married with two children, lives in Timaru and enjoys football, mountain biking, and snowboarding in his spare time.

AFL057 Rebecca Biggs.png

Rebecca Biggs

Rebecca has a background in Finance and Marketing. She is currently Commercial Manager at Farmers Mill in Washdyke and is also heavily involved in a mixed arable and beef farming operation with her husband in Fairlie.

 She has served on the Ronald McDonald House Charities SI Board, is a Director on Opuha Water Limited and is involved in the local community through business, sporting and educational interests.

Having grown up in South Canterbury, and now bringing up her own 3 children here, she is passionate about the ongoing development and future of the region.

AFL057 Andrew McRae.png

Andrew McRae

Andrew McRae is a Barrister, Solicitor and a Partner of Gresson Dorman & Co. He is the Crown Solicitor of Timaru and practices litigation law. His community involvement includes being past Chair and Board Member of the South Canterbury Cricket Association, current Board Member of the Canterbury Cricket Association, an ASPECT Trustee and a member of the YMCA Mid and South Canterbury Board.

Andrew is an ardent supporter of South Canterbury and all that it has to offer and strongly believes in the power of philanthropy harnessed by the Aoraki Foundation to advance the common good of the region.

AFL057 Nigel Trainor.png

Nigel Trainor

Nigel is the CEO of South Canterbury District Health Board and also a Chartered Accountant by profession.

Nigel is passionate at ensuring the public health system delivers patient and consumer focused care to the people of South Canterbury.

As a member of the Institute of Directors, combined with the Community role leading the South Canterbury health system, both are complementary to the work of the Aoraki Foundation.

We would also like to acknowledge the work of previous Trustees and Executive Members who have helped to make The Aoraki Foundation what it is today:

Sid MacAuley

Jim Anderson                        

Ken McKenzie

John Bishop

Ron Luxton

Ian O'Loughlin

Nigel Davenport

Peter McIlraith                       

Jan Hide

Damon Odey                                                     

Alice Caird

Leon O'Sullivan                                                 

Gavin McKenzie

Stacey Scott

Gail Thompson

Nick Noone